Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

First time chased by snarling dog!

The downpour let up enough today that I figured I would get in a ride. I went my usual route. 7 km into my ride, this growling, snapping, dog comes running full tilt up beside my bike. This is my worst nightmare! I'm terrified of dogs. I'm one of those people that dog people always say to me.... "he won't bite".....usually followed up with...."wow, he's never bitten anyone before". To make the situation worst, this dog is charging at me while im pedaling going up hill!!. I'm pretty new to road cycling, but I geared down and started spinning like a crazy woman. I crested the hill with rabid dog still chasing me. Now I got another problem, I have a busy intersection just ahead. If I slow down, the dog is going to bite me, if I keep going I might end up having a problem with a car. I ended up taking the corner wide going full tilt, fear is a wonderful thing! I've never taken a corner so fast. Rabid dog finally gave up the chase. Stupid dog has now ruined my route, as I don't want to ride that way anymore.
    Anyone have some good tips to avoid getting chased, or what to do other than the obvious of pedaling like crazy when chased?

Being on a hill complicates things a bit.

Some people speed up and try to blast past the dog, but I don't have enough confidence in my ability to do that, so I usually slow down and prepare to stop if necessary and use my deterrents (horn and water bottle).

At the first sign of trouble, I blast my small marine air horn. That works about 75% of the time. The next step would be a squirt in the face from my water bottle. That usually works pretty well.