Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cycling Clubs

Cycling Clubs

To disable ads, please log-in.

I am a brand new rider and still getting a feel for what I am doing. A suggestion that comes up over and over is to join a cycling club. I wanted to get a feel from members of this forum about their experiences with cycling clubs. I have had some sadly negative experience with running groups and am reluctant to go through that again.

Do members here belong to cycling clubs? How did you find your club? Is it worth going farther geographically to have more choice or is location the most important thing?

I used my local club as a way to meet other cyclists. Now I have a regular group I ride with & rarely participate in local club activities. They can also give you route suggestions (as can your LBS).
    "Only those who dare to fail greatly can ever achieve greatly" (Robert F. Kennedy)

There are soo many types of cycling clubs out there.

Hardcore racing every weekend clubs
    Non-organized large bunch groups of pain in the A*** groups
    Touring groups- these tend to go pretty slow for me.

The best club I have joined was a vetrens cycle club- meaning over 30s and mostly older 50+ men and women who wanted to go for medium to long rides in various speed groups, have a coffee afterwards and do the occasional fun race every second month. A nice balance between giving you a challenge to get better (you moved up speed groups etc) but enough social (we chatted whilke riding and had lunch etc afterwards). Organized with over 30 different routes which changed weekly, with help to build up for certain cycling events (like a 160km ride in November most of the club went to).