Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Aluminum Bike Similar to Fargo?

To disable ads, please log-in.

Is there an aluminum bike out there similar to the Salsa Fargo? One with drop bars and the ability to put wider mountain bike tires on it? Everything I look at is street/racing/hybrid or mountain bikes. You can't put drop bars on a mountain bike which would be perfect and my hybrid doesn't hold up on trails.

The only reason I ask is that I was riding my son's Rockhopper to check over for some gearing problems and realized his bike was SO much lighter than my Fargo even though it's a size 21. I was hitting speeds of 18 mph with ease.

I adore my Fargo, but sometimes it would be nice to have something similar in an aluminum bike. I have a mountain bike (Mamba) which I also love, but riding for miles isn't easy on flat bars.

I've seen this sort of thing referred to as a monster-cross bike...like a cyclocross bike, but with wider clearance, to take 29er wheels/tires. I think they're often custom-made, though...or frankenbikes of sorts.
    Kirsten
    run/bike log
    zoomylicious

'11 Cannondale SuperSix 4 Rival
    '12 Salsa Mukluk 3
    '14 Seven Mudhoney S Ti/disc/Di2

You could also go with a custom steel bike - as higher grade steel is lighter. Then you could have everything you want

Just saying....