Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Hybrid View

Fany Ride (And Hello Again)

Hello All,
    It seems that I have a drop in mode for this forum. Every winter/soon to be spring I log on again to share and see what other team estrogen mates are up to. I have signed up for the Great Big Fany Ride across NY state this summer. Will anyone on here be there? It's my first time for this tour. Last year I did my first tour ever - the Cycling the Erie Canal ride across NY. This one averages 70 miles per day - much more than I have accomplished yet.
    I was wondering what your thoughts are on which bike to take. I took my Surly LHT last year because of the dirt pack trails on the canal. This one is all road with big hills. I don't know which bike to take - the Specialized Road bike or my tried and true Surly.
    Savra

2006 Specialized Dolce Elite/Specialized Stock Saddle
    2011 Surly LHT/Brooks S Flyer

Two things come to mind: are the gears for the road bike that much better for hills than the LHT? And will the road bike accommodate any racks and packs that you will need to affix to your bike?

- Gray 2010 carbon WSD road bike, Rivet Independence saddle
    - Red hardtail 26" aluminum mountain bike, Bontrager Evoke WSD saddle
    - Royal blue 2018 aluminum gravel bike, Rivet Pearl saddle

Gone but not forgotten:
    - Silver 2003 aluminum road bike
    - Two awesome worn out Juliana saddles

Well, the LHT currently has a granny gear. The road bike doesn't but I have the old crank it came with that does so I can switch that out. The LHT can certainly carry more but I could put a bigger seat bag and a handlebar bag on the road so it can carry more. Of course, even if I add a bag - the LHT still carries more. However, the LHT is heavier by far but it was very comfortable to ride for the last tour. Very comfortable.
    Savra