Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Summer jobs

Summer jobs

To disable ads, please log-in.

I'm a teacher and I have summers off. This past summer, I applied at a few places and never heard back. It was getting really tight money-wise and I can't really afford to keep taking the time off every year. I've been thinking of jobs that I can do for the short-term. There's temping, but that's not very reliable, and having come from a corporate background, I know how flaky companies are about temps. And I'd just as soon not be directly responsible for kids at a summer camp or preschool. Love them, but a break is good.

So, I thought Disneyland might be fun. Would it be embarrassing to work there at my age (late thirties) with a bunch of teenagers on summer vacation? I'm sure there are plenty of behind the scenes jobs in addition to things like merchandise clerks and ride operators...taking care of costumes might be interesting, although I'm sure you probably go wherever they put you.

A friend suggested that I would be somehow downgrading my college graduate professional status by taking a low paying job like this. I disagree. A job is a job and money is money. For a two-month period, I'm not likely to find a high paying job with a lot of responsibility, and since for ten months out of the year I'm in a very intense job, something like Disney might be a fun distraction, right?

What do you think?
    Jen

A job is a job, and it can't hurt to apply. Summer will be the busy season, so you may not get a break from kids, or adults acting childish. Are you in the Los Angeles area, or will you need to find housing too?
    Beth