Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Advice needed: starter road bike for 13yo daughter

To disable ads, please log-in.

Help. I'm just getting started in looking for a road bike for my daughter who is joining me on some charity rides next summer. She's 5 foot 2 or 3 inches, weighs a slight 98 lbs right now and is very athletic. She has a short torso and is mostly arms and legs.

We've been to our LBS to begin, but I'm hoping to get some advice from women who've been down this road. I don't want to spend too much as she's still growing. I do, however, want to find a bike that fits her well. Used equipment might be an option.

Any help and direction you can give me is welcome.

Thank you.
    Last edited by roadwrider; 11-14-2011 at 05:08 AM.

Maybe something like a used Specialized Dolce. That's what I had as my first bike. It sounds like she'd appreciate WSD, since she's all legs. She's probably around a 48-50 cm. Call your local bike store, because some of them take bikes back for upgrades, and resell them, so they have a used bike section you may not know about unless you ask. Or, try Craigslist or Ebay. You might even find one here.
    '02 Eddy Merckx Fuga, Selle An Atomica
    '85 Eddy Merckx Professional, Selle An Atomica

'10 Soma Double Cross DC, Selle An Atomica

Slacker on wheels.

Too bad I don't still have my 48cm Cannondale Synapse Feminine. That would be a good one to look at. If I had a DD the age of yours, I'd definitely have her try that. At one point we considered hanging onto it for our DS to try in a few years, since it had the short-reach brakes/shifters.
    Kirsten
    run/bike log
    zoomylicious

'11 Cannondale SuperSix 4 Rival
    '12 Salsa Mukluk 3
    '14 Seven Mudhoney S Ti/disc/Di2

Our 15 year old just did the MS ride on a Jamis Coda Femme - http://www.jamisbikes.com/usa/thebik...codacompf.html