Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

beginner riding groups in soCal?

To disable ads, please log-in.

Since I'm brand new to cycling, I know I'll be spending a lot of time on my own working on my speed and such but I wish there was a group I could ride with at my level...seems safer that way, too. Tried looking at LBS, meetup...most of the groups are pretty experienced (18mph+). I'm more at...12? lol. Anyone know of any good groups out there? thanks!

Welcome, happysurfer! Don't know if you are anywhere near the South Bay, but the PV Bike Chicks is a pretty cool group and they've been having rides at all levels. I just did a nice mellow ride with them yesterday, averaged somewhere around 12 mph.

The best way to get in touch with them is to contact PV Bicycle Center (http://pvbike.com/) and have them put you on the mailing list. There's a facebook page for them too.
    2001 Cannondale R500 <3
    2011 Specialized Ruby Elite Apex
    2021 Tangential Speedarama

thanks for the link! I'll check them out! I'm not too far from the south bay. Seems I have to drive 30 minutes to get somewhere bike friendly anyways.
    btw- Noticed you have a Ruby! I just picked up a Ruby comp this past friday!

Hooray! I'm sure you will get many fun miles out of your Ruby. I love mine
    2001 Cannondale R500 <3
    2011 Specialized Ruby Elite Apex
    2021 Tangential Speedarama

Hey happysurfer! Any luck with beginner groups? I'm new too and looking for the same. I live in Torrance, so I'll definitely check out PV Bike Chicks.