Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Thread: Am I nuts?

Am I nuts?

To disable ads, please log-in.

I know what you'll say, but hopefully you can assuage my fears and provide some advice.

There's a small tri being put on by a localish (not mine) university as part of its homecoming event. 1/4mi pool swim, 16-mile bike ride around the campus, 3.2-mile run. The bike leg should not be a problem, the run...well, I'm not really a runner, but if worst comes to worst I walk pretty fast. My concern is the swim. I haven't actually been in a pool much since I graduated from high school...while cardiovascularly, I'm in much better shape than I was then, I'm not entirely sure I can swim efficiently. Doggie-paddling a quarter-mile is probably not effective, is it? (Oh, and I may need to buy a swimsuit...)

My other major concerns are the transitions (there aren't really any details), since I don't own a pair of tri shorts (yet?) and the fact that this thing is in October. I really don't want to go out there with wet hair...
    If nothing else, the tri falls on my birthday (10/22)--it's an excuse to eat a bit more cake than I should, right?
    At least I don't leave slime trails.
    http://wholecog.wordpress.com/

2009 Giant Avail 3 |Specialized Jett 143

2013 Charge Filter Apex| Specialized Jett 143
    1996(?) Giant Iguana 630|Specialized Riva

Saving for the next one...

Well, I'm not sure how much use my input is, but then on the other hand, every time I ask something like "should I run a half marathon," all the Ironwomen and ultra runners chime in with "oh no problem." So maybe a little perspective from the shallow end of the pool...

I did a sprint tri on a lark last summer (0.75k/20k/5k). Up until three weeks before the event I hadn't swum for distance since 1977 - had barely swum at all.