Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Question There is no where to ride without driving to get there. What do I do?

To disable ads, please log-in.

First off let me say that I am really new to riding! I have started riding because I have found that I enjoy it and want to promote a healthy active life style for myself for years to come and being 20 it seems like a great time to start. I live in cincinnati Ohio and although there are really nice/ ok places to ride you cant get there without driving. I was hoping to use my bike to commute, but it would be really unsafe. Both my work and school are WAY to far away, and any way you could take would be far to dangerous. None of the roads around here are safe to ride on at all. I could ride in the road but that scares the pee out of me. And there is not enough "side road" to ride on (Sorry I dont know exactly what to call it). The neighborhoods around here are not exactly the best either and being an attractive young woman (Just telling you how it is lol) feel I need to be careful so I dont end up in a body bag! Can anyone tell me what they would do/did in my situation? I already have a bike rack and currently bike a few times a week. I would love to do it everyday but driving somewhere to bike seems hypocritical since I'm trying to be more green....

Thanks so much,
    Sincerely,
    Tara.