Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Utah, Gateway to Nevada, not to be confused with Idaho

Squaw Peak 50...errr...52...Official Report

To disable ads, please log-in.

As most of you know, I ran/survived the Squaw Peak 50 mile trail run here in Utah on Saturday June 4. I was kind of waiting for my sources to come through with more pictures but they haven't, so I decided to just write it up with what I have.

I started training for this event in January. I had no idea if my post-surgery body could do this but I figured it was worth a shot. Why did I want to do this? I'm not sure. I had some frustration last year with cycling (something about my back's new arrangement doesn't like cycling) and was feeling the early-winter-not-enough-snow doldrums so I signed up as soon as it opened in December 2010. Just like that.

This event is what I would call one of northern Utah's signature events. It fills quickly. This is the 15th year it has been held. It's also the first year that the race director had to modify the course because of snowpack. This is what it looked like mid-May.

The normal course goes up into the Wasatch Mountains above Provo, Utah. It is a beautiful spot. This year we had 5 to 10 feet of snow on the course at its highest point, so the RD wisely decided to change the route. I was disappointed at first because I spent months processing the anxiety about 14,000 feet of elevation gain and a very steep climb. However, I am glad he didn't just flat out cancel the event. So instead I ended up on a lower elevation course with only 12,100 feet of elevation gain.

There were 340 entrants and about 320 showed up on race day. We were off at 5 am with headlamps. The first couple of miles followed the Provo River before the route jetted off on some singletrack that introduced us to the concept of uphill.