Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Vitamin B12 Shots

To disable ads, please log-in.

After some labwork, my doctor wants me to do Vitamin B12 shots. My B12 was 284 pg/ml. Anyone else with low level of Vitamin B12?
    2011 Specialized Secteur Elite Comp
    2006 Trek 7100

Yup.

The pills are a lot cheaper than the shots, so I do the pills.

2x2500 mcg per day the first week.
    1x2500 mcg per day after that.

Next trick is to figure out how you got low on B12 in the first place, and address that.
    (in my case, it was a malbsorption artifact of celiac disease, now I've been holding steady in the 600's for a few years)
    Last edited by KnottedYet; 05-24-2011 at 05:02 PM.
    "If Americans want to live the American Dream, they should go to Denmark." - Richard Wilkinson

I've been getting monthly B-12 injections since 1998 because I have pernicious anemia and lack intrinsic factor. They did a Schillings test too to see if I can take it by pill but can't. When I get near the 4th week I feel it so much - a kind of fatigue that is so debilitating and nothing that sleep can remedy. I try to get my shots between the 3rd and 4th week.

I don't particularly like having to be beholden and dependent on my doctor every month but I got used to it. I'm grateful it's something they can fix.

They have a nasal spray out there you take once a week too, called Nascobal. but it doesn't seem to be as effective for me. Works for some.
    Last edited by mudmucker; 05-24-2011 at 05:06 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by mudmucker View Post
    I've been getting monthly B-12 injections since 1998 because I have pernicious anemia and lack intrinsic factor. They did a Schillings test too to see if I can take it by pill but can't.