Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Red face I'm a newbie - aren't all Shimano 105 shifters the same?

To disable ads, please log-in.

I'm trying to get going with road biking and want my first bike to be a used one (in case I later decide that road buking isn't for me, I won't have blown thousands of dollars on a new bike). So I'm looking at a year 2000 Bianchi Giro that's been hanging in a garage for 4 years. Bike shop technician says shifters aren't working properly and that a tune-up may fix them, may not. I need to be prepared to shell out $300 if the bike needs new shifters. They are Shimano 105s. Technician also says they may be hard to find due to bike's age. Do they change from model year to model year? Aren't they all the same?
    Last edited by LiseB; 03-22-2011 at 03:37 PM. Reason: typos

From 2000 they will be 9-speed shifters, and now 105 (and all shifters that Shimano makes) are for 10-speed. So they are different and potentially hard to find.
    Oil is good, grease is better.

2007 Peter Mooney w/S&S couplers/Terry Butterfly
    1993 Bridgestone MB-3/Avocet O2 Air 40W
    1980 Columbus Frame with 1970 Campy parts
    1954 Raleigh 3-speed/Brooks B72

Thanks for the info!

you could also check Ebay......I pieced together a whole Sram Force set for alittle over $600 off Ebay. There are some 105 9 speed shifters for sale....
    2005? Storck Senario cd 1.0 with SRAM Force, Specialized Romin Comp Gel 155 saddle
    1998 Lemond Tourmalet
    2007 Gary Fisher HKEK

Quote Originally Posted by DebW View Post
    From 2000 they will be 9-speed shifters, and now 105 (and all shifters that Shimano makes) are for 10-speed. So they are different and potentially hard to find.