Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Anyone with Lupus or similar?

To disable ads, please log-in.

I've been riding off and on for a few years now ever since training to participate in the AIDS/LifeCycle event in 2008. I had an open lung biopsy in February to determine the cause of my breathing problems and ground glass opacity on my chest CTs. Anyway, the biopsy showed chronic inflammation and subsequent scarring (we did it mainly to make sure my job was not contributing to my breathing issues--I use a grinder and work with chemicals and at 28 years old I wanted to make sure I didn't just need to get a different career). While in the hospital, they did a test for autoimmune disorders and my RF came back at 300 something. They then did some other blood test that came back "very strongly" for Lupus, though I don't have all the symptoms. I have been diagnosed with Undifferentiated Connective Tissue Disease.

My question to you all is whether cycling helps or hurts symptoms. I haven't ridden my bike since the lung surgery (I also lost my job and moved across the country for a new job in that time). I am hoping to start riding again, but recently I've had a lot of joint pain from my daily activities. I question how much is from UCTD versus the fact that I'm carrying around about 100 extra pounds of body weight that my joints weren't really designed to carry.

I feel like the exercise should make me feel good, but I'm scared of creating more problems.