Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Found my kayak. The one.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Okay, so this is a cycling forum - but the people on kayaking forums I get on aren't very chatty.

I've been trading up kayaks for a few years now - getting the best model that I can afford for my skill level and what I do with the kayaks - I do a lot of distance camping/touring via kayak - so I do need a longer one with storage space - and at the same time, being a small female, I like having a narrow fit and a kayak that I can roll... I also really like playing in waves and rock gardens, and like a nice maneuverable kayak.

The solution for the last year or two has been to have one plastic yak that's smaller & more maneuverable for day tripping or playing in waves (but is slower being shorter & can't hold so much), and one longer one for tours - that's not nearly so much fun.

But I happened to see a kayak listed on craigslist on Friday night without much details, but from what I googled, it looked intruiging - P&H vela kayak for small woman, 16 foot x 21.5" wide, for advanced paddlers not scared of a tippy boat and either fiberglass or kevlar...

So I emailed and sat biting my fingers hoping noone else had already bought it - was ecstatic to get an email in the morning that it was still available, in great condition, was fiberglass, and was 5 years old, only used for a couple of years till the owner was injured & couldn't paddle anymore.

She offered to email me pictures, but from the few reviews and info I could find on the web - it seemed pretty much to be just about my dream boat - A really good compromise between the 2 boats that I already had.