Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Red face Pace: trainer vs. outdoors

To disable ads, please log-in.

Ok, so I am a total noob and got my bike only a few weeks before our roads went all the heck with snow, ice, sand and road salt.

Hubby and I did one leisurely 30 mile road ride just a week or so after I took possession of my bike where I comfortably maintained an average pace of ~13mph. This was before I had any degree of cycle-specific fitness.

For the last couple of months I have been supplementing my running with 2-3 cycling workouts on the trainer. And while I feel more comfortable going longer (I'm up to a whopping 15 miles on the trainer for my "long" indoor rides), my pace has not increased and is generally 2-3mph slower than what I was able to comfortably do outdoors.

Is this normal? Hubby says he is noticeably slower indoors, too, but his resistance on his fluid trainer feels pretty high to me...and he's still 5-6mph faster than I am. Poo. I have my ancient magnetic trainer set at 2 the second resistance level of 6.

Someone tell me that I'm really an animal in the saddle, but the trainer is concealing my skillz.
    Kirsten
    run/bike log
    zoomylicious

'11 Cannondale SuperSix 4 Rival
    '12 Salsa Mukluk 3
    '14 Seven Mudhoney S Ti/disc/Di2

Trainer pace has little relationship to road pace. The trainer can feel much harder.
    I'd rather be swimming...biking...running...and eating cheesecake...
    --===--

2008 Cervelo P2C Tri bike
    2011 Trek Madone 5.5/Cobb V-Flow Max
    2007 Jamis Coda/Terry Liberator
    2011 Trek Mamba 29er

Lots & lots of potential reasons why you are slower on the trainer:

1 - what trainer do you use & how tight is the tire on the trainer? You can get crazy speed readings, especially high ones, if you have the tire on loose.