Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Thread: Tour de Cure

Tour de Cure

To disable ads, please log-in.

Has anyone done the Tour de Cure in Indianapolis?

I haven't, but I know a few people who have. What do you want to know about it?
    Live with intention. Walk to the edge. Listen hard. Practice wellness. Play with abandon. Laugh. Choose with no regret. Continue to learn. Appreciate your friends. Do what you love. Live as if this is all there is.

--Mary Anne Radmacher

Quote Originally Posted by indysteel View Post
    I haven't, but I know a few people who have. What do you want to know about it?
    I am considering it as my very first goal this summer - I understand that there are various options outside of the century ride at the track. I guess that, as a cycling novice, I am just curious to hear other people's experience of the event. I like that it is a fund-raiser for diabetes research, and from the description it doesn't sound like something that would be overly ambitious for a beginner. Now the Hilly Hundred, that just might be - but that isn't until October

I live 2.5 miles from the track, it seems a shame not to participate
    Last edited by Catrin; 01-17-2010 at 05:59 PM.

From their website, it looks like there are three ride options, a full century, a 50k, and 75k. If you don't feel up to the century, the 50 and 75k are very doable goals. You have more than enough time to build up to those mileages. As you know, most of central Indiana is flat, so while I suppose they could route you over the fews hills that do exist over by Eagle Creek, but they're not bad at all.

You might do a search for Tour de Cure on TE. I vaguely remember another member doing the ride last year, but I can't remember her name. I bet if you PMed her, she could give you some information as to well organized it is.