Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

If you start attending Cycle classes....

To disable ads, please log-in.

This is the time of new year resolutions and when outdoor riders (and non-riders) come into the indoor realm of cycling classes. I've been an instructor in this format since 1997 as well as being a personal trainer and an outoor cyclist.

I just wish anyone that takes indoor cycling classes would realize a few things. First, it's really your workout. You don't have to move in and out of the saddle every time the instructor says to, and if it doesn't feel good to you...don't do it!

Cycle classes should be fun and instructive. If an instructor asks you to do push-ups on the bike, or quick jumps in and out of the saddle, or "hovers" ask them (after class) what they believe the benefit is. Chances are that they won't have a reasonable answer because believe me (and studies that support this) that any half-a$$ push-up done on the bike won't improve your cycling and it won't improve your upper body. What it will do is take away from your training on the bike. Likewise the old "hands behind the back" supposed core movement. If you want to improve your core strength, work on it off the bike...dont dilute your bike training for the sake of "fluff moves" on the spinning bike.

OK...stepping off my soapbox.
    Vertically challenged, but expanding my horizons.

We've pretty much discussed this.

However,
    Quote Originally Posted by Raindrop View Post
    Likewise the old "hands behind the back" supposed core movement. If you want to improve your core strength, work on it off the bike...dont dilute your bike training for the sake of "fluff moves" on the spinning bike.
    what happened to 'it's your ride"? I do this when I need a stretch.
    2008 Trek FX 7.2/Terry Cite X