Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Entry level FS bikes

To disable ads, please log-in.

I want a MTB so bad I can hardly stand it. The local Mountain Bikers Association had finished a bunch of trails close to here. I'm a total newbie. I want my hubby to play, too, so we need 2 bikes. On a very tight budget. I want to get a cheap HT, but my arthritic spine says an emphatic "NOT!!" We looked at Trek Fuels today. The 5 series seems good. Still more than we can do right now. I wish the Specialized dealer in town was a place I was willing to patronize. I hate to give them my money for the service they (don't) provide. We keep looking for used. Any recommendations?

Deb

Quote Originally Posted by blackhillsbiker View Post
    I want a MTB so bad I can hardly stand it. The local Mountain Bikers Association had finished a bunch of trails close to here. I'm a total newbie. I want my hubby to play, too, so we need 2 bikes. On a very tight budget. I want to get a cheap HT, but my arthritic spine says an emphatic "NOT!!" We looked at Trek Fuels today. The 5 series seems good. Still more than we can do right now. I wish the Specialized dealer in town was a place I was willing to patronize. I hate to give them my money for the service they (don't) provide. We keep looking for used. Any recommendations?

Deb
    you may want to spend some time shopping at the LBSs and then try to find something you like used... I had a beautiful Santa Cruz that was a bit too small and I sold it with less than 400 miles on it... perhaps you could find a great deal like that? In any event, I hope you find what you need to get started... its VERY fun!!!

The Specialized Mykas seem to be a lot of bang for the buck, I am sorry the dealer wasn't worth visiting.