Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Learned more today than I ever thought...

To disable ads, please log-in.

So, I decided that instead of spending $$$ to my LBS for a tune up and cleaning, I'd learn how to do it myself. I have a mountain bike that I'm using for my first triathlon in 2 weeks, so I'm trying to get it ready to go. I swapped out the MTB tires and put road tires and new tubes on it last week, and figured out how to change tires.

So, this week, I cleaned my chain and gears, relubed it all. Wow - what a difference. My brakes had been squeaky, so I cleaned and adjusted them, and then I started playing with the adjustments for the gears. In the process, I lost a bunch of gears and had to figure out how to get them back. The good news is that I figured it out, all by myself, and feel pretty good about the whole thing.

Thank goodness for the internet, or I probably would have been in trouble, but the resources are great, and very helpful to the newbie cyclist. Now, if I like this triathlon stuff, I may be looking at a road bike next year...

Way to go! I love that feeling of accomplishment. Also makes me feel like I can rely more on my own bike and trust that it'll get me home again! The nice thing about bikes is it's all more or less visible - I can see what's sposed to happen if I look long enough.

Are there particular resources that you found helpful? I need to do this also. My road bike's chain is skipping and when I just adjusted the barrel roller, I made it worse

FYI - bicycletutor.com has some really good videos on bicycle repair and maintenance.
    As we must account for every idle word, so must we account for every idle silence." ~Benjamin Franklin

Besides the bicycletutor.com, you can also check out Park Tool's Repair Help.