Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Thread: Another newb!

Another newb!

To disable ads, please log-in.

I was looking for a bike (for a beginner) for exercise purposes. I have been to my local bike shop, and they showed me a cruiser and a hybrid. Both seem a little too bubble-gum for what I'm interested in.

I've been heavily considering the Trek FX 7.3 WSD, but I'm nervous about making that kind of purchase. First, I haven't ever ridden a bike bent over like that. Second, the thin tires, I'm worried about them not being able to handle the rural roads where I live. Lastly, I'm concerned that I should really be getting the cruiser/hybrid, but I'll out grow it quickly.

What do you all think? Thanks in advance!

A fellow newbie here so I can't answer your questions (sorry!) but I just wanted to say welcome!
    Amy

Kickin' it old school on my Huffy, but hey, I RIDE!

Follow your gut instinct. It sounds like you're a roadie at heart. You don't need to ride that bent over. You can set up the bike so you're more upright. Drop bars are great for giving you lots of hand position options.

You may want to take a bike safety course if there's one offered near you. You'll also need to learn some basic maintenance, like how to change a flat. If you have a great group of family and friends who will not mind coming to get you if you have a mechanical incident, you can get away with just carrying your cell phone at first. Eventually, the day will come when you're stuck and you can't reach anyone, or they're unable to drop everything and come get you, and you'll start carrying tubes, tools, and some method of getting air or gas into your tires. Even still I sometimes get stuck. I have a taxi # in my phone for real emergencies, but I haven't used it yet.