Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unhappy Sit Bone Pain, how long does it last? -- New to Cycling

To disable ads, please log-in.

Hi all! I am new to cycling, though my husband is an old hand. We actually just got our new bikes last week after ordering them from Trek. We both got a Trek Madone 5.2 (I got the WSD) and we love them so far. We spent several weekends renting various bikes before we finally decided to shell out the money and get what we really wanted.

My question is regarding pain in my sit bones. As i've only been riding my new bike for one week I highly doubt that my saddle is bad (Selle SMP Strike TRK) and i'm not willing to blame my saddle this early in the game. From reading other threads I figure sit bone pain is normal in the beginning, but how long will it last? I'm sure this depends on how long and how often I ride. Right now i'm only riding between 10-20 miles about every third day as I don't think my bum can handle much more. Does this last for weeks, months, years?

Any advice or personal experiences you could share are greatly appreciated!

Couple of weeks.
    You can speed it up by riding more often (every day, every second day) for a couple days and then taking a couple days off to let the periostitis (that's basically what it is) heal off. Sortofa "Sitbone training camp".
    Diclofenac cream helps in relieving pain. apply moderate amounts several times a day.
    It's a little secret you didn't know about us women. We're all closet Visigoths.

2008 Roy Hinnen O2 - Selle SMP Glider
    2009 Cube Axial WLS - Selle SMP Glider
    2007 Gary Fisher HiFi Plus - Specialized Alias

Riding my Luna & Rivendell in the Hudson Valley, NY