Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Intense Toe Pain

To disable ads, please log-in.

I've been cycling for 10 years and in the past 2 years, I've had major toe pains in both of my big toes. My toes feel numb, but to the point of hurting. It's mainly the top portion of my toes, close to the nail. The pain starts within two-three miles of a road ride and doesn't let up until my shoes are off. I've used a special insert in my shoes and I've tried without, it doesn't matter, my toes still hurt.

I have a pair of Sidi's, that I've worn with no problems up until 2 years ago. One small bit of info is that I did have 4 ingrown toenails removed from both of those toes about 4 years ago.

I have no problem with my mountain bike shoes, which are also Sidi's. I'm wondering if it's how my pedals/cleats are set up on my road bike, that I'm putting too much pressure on my toes or if I should go back to the doctor.

Any suggestions?

Riding my Luna & Rivendell in the Hudson Valley, NY
    I think feet tend to get more swelling or 'spread out' a bit as we get older.

Get new shoes, and be sure they aren't too tight!
    You could really damage the nerves and bones in your feet if you keep riding with pain and numbness.
    Lisa
    My mountain dulcimer network...FOTMD.com...and my mountain dulcimer blog
    My personal blog:My blog
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

I was having toe pain the other day on one foot because I was wearing a thicker pair of socks than usual (too lazy to find thin cycling ones).

After a couple miles, I pulled over, took the sock off, and my toes were happy as could be after that.

Thanks for the responses.