Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

how do you load your bike on the car?

To disable ads, please log-in.

hi girls

i've been using a rear Thule bike carrier or a audi for a couple of years, and the draw back is that at the end of a trip on a highway, my 2 bikes are carpeted with insects...

so i'm investigating on different ways of loading them, possibly even inside the car, without damaging the interiors and getting greas all over when loading-unloading.

has anyone tried this method on her car?
    http://www.bdc-forum.it/showpost.php...&postcount=129

ideas? suggestions? opinions?

we were thinking of buying a Honda FIT with this exact method/configuration in mind, but my husband's bike was just too big (so we bought a Ford F150). He has aerobars and between that and the saddle it just wouldn't go in.
    We have that same mounting system in our pick up bed for taking numbers of bikes places, they fit fine there.
    I like Bikes - Mimi
    Watercolor Blog

Davidson Custom Bike - Cavaletta
    Dahon 2009 Sport - Luna
    Old Raleigh Mixte - Mitzi

I have a Yakima roof rack. We use "bike bras" and have found them to do the job -- the bikes are not dirty/buggy when unloaded, even after highway driving.

Here's an example:
    http://www.teamcyclist.com/store/Sci...nder_P2816.cfm

Ours came from Nashbar and were much cheaper.

This style wouldn't be all that helpful for a trunk or hitch rack -- but I wonder if there is something similar designed for rear-mounted racks? I wonder if you couldn't rig something functional up out of black plastic garbage bags?