Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

A absolutely dumb question

To disable ads, please log-in.

This is going to seem a very dumb question but I'm a beginner.

How do you shift up a gear? I went for my first ride today on my Giant Avail and couldn't shift up a gear, I could shift down but not up, I had to head back home otherwise that ride would have been quite difficult. I don't know weather I have assembled the bike wrong or it's me being dumb

It's probably another lever on your bike, on the other side of the one you've been ratcheting up. Get off your bike and play with all the levers. I don't know what kind of gears you have, so I can't be more helpful than that.
    I like Bikes - Mimi
    Watercolor Blog

Davidson Custom Bike - Cavaletta
    Dahon 2009 Sport - Luna
    Old Raleigh Mixte - Mitzi

What's dumb is not your question, it's the shop selling you the bike without making sure you knew how the "brifters" (brake/shifters) work...

On both derailleurs/shifters, the (smaller) inner paddle shifts you to a smaller cog, and the (larger) brake lever shifts you to a larger cog. Shifting is always by pushing centerward on the appropriate lever. So to downshift the front derailleur, you'd push the left inner paddle to the right; to downshift the rear derailleur, you'd push the right brake lever to the left; and vice versa for upshifting.

Make sure you're pedaling, but not putting too much force on the pedals, while you shift.

Unless it's the Avail 3 with the Shimano 2200 shifters that have the very small inner lever. I haven't seen those in real life, but from Shimano's website, it looks like it's the same principle of big lever->bigger cog, small lever->smaller cog, except the small lever gets pressed toward the brake lever rather than in the same direction as with the paddles in Tiagra, Sora, 105, Ultegra and Dura-Ace.