Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Buying a new bike...suggestions??

To disable ads, please log-in.

I am new to cycling and i am buying a new bike next week. I am looking to buying a Giant OCR 1. Does anyone have any feedback on this bike? Any info would be great. I have been on a small test ride and it feels pretty good. I am so excited to get started. Any suggestions would be great!! Thanks so much!

I've had a Giant OCR 3 for a year and it is my first road bike. It's been good for me to learn the basics and to know for sure if I really wanted to stick with cycling. But it's good that you are going for the OCR 1 since it will have better components and won't be as heavy. I'm having trouble getting up the hills and even going fast due to bike weight. My hubby decided I needed a new bike a few weeks ago and I finally made my decision last night. I'll be upgrading to the Giant TCR Composite 2 which I get to pick up today!! The OCR 1 will be a great beginner bike for you. Ride it for a year and then you can upgrade.

Love my OCR1

I just bought an OCR1. YEA! So far I love it. It is soooo different from my old ride and way cooler. The bike is light and still a little scary to ride because the handling is quick, very quick! Every time I ride I have to pick the bugs out of my teeth cause I'm grinning so much. I test rode many bikes and they were all uncomfortable and had about given up on getting a road bike. The OCR1 felt good the minute I got on. I still have a few issues with comfort but I think they have more to do with adjusting to a totally different riding position and being too fat than with the bike itself! I'm hoping both will be improving with miles in the saddle. My is silver with pink trim. What color did you order? bikerHen

Quote Originally Posted by bikerHen