Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Help me find time to ride!

To disable ads, please log-in.

Hi all-I'm realtively new. My husband is in the military, and leaves the house at 4:30 a.m. to get his long runs in before work. He usually arrives home for dinner about 7p.m. We get one hour with the girls, and then they all go to bed (including husband). By now, it is dark, and I am exhausted from work, and being a wife and mom. I can ride on the weekends, but that is all.

I am really frustrated. My husband will not budge on buying a trainer until I ride more, but I can't ride more, especially as it is getting dark earlier, and I'm clumsy enough in the light. I work as a preschool teacher and my paycheck would not cover a trainer...it barely covers things like haircuts and backpacks and new shoes for the kids! (I took the job so I could buy those things myself, rather than having to constantly ask for money...)

I have a 4 and an 8 year old. Other than hiring a babysitter, any ideas?????

I commute an hour and a half each way, and have a 4 year old. My husband plays golf till dark every day.
    Usually during the week, I try to ride during my lunch break. Even though the ride is short, it gets me outside and on the bike. There are some hilly areas around here so I still feel like I get a workout.
    Sometimes I bring the mountain bike, and from one of the sites I work at (I travel between 3 sites) I'm only about a half hour from some good trails. On those days, I'll have him pick Andy up from daycare, and when I'm done riding I pick Andy up from the golf course and take him home.