Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Very Old Ride Report from Scared First Timer!

To disable ads, please log-in.

Hi Guys - I don't know if anyone remembers me but back around August 23rd I posted here quite 'terrified' to do my first Century with Team in Training. Several people asked me to let them know how it went and with the ride, work, and some personal stuff I am just now getting to write.

I could write volumes on the event. It was all so new to me. I've never done anything like this before. I am 50+ pounds overweight - never participated in a sport before - and really signed up to see if I could raise the money and if I had it in me to actually ride 100 miles. I've always felt like such a lazy slob. Training with Team in Training all summer was great but I kept hearing it would change my life, but I never felt it ... until the event!

I did the Mad River Valley Century up in Vermont and it was just incredible. I didn't get the boost I thought I would on the day from all the excitement - but it was really fun to do the ride with the team and to be there and have the culmination of all my training finally happen. I did great the first 50 - felt really good - was averaging around 14mph - sticking strictly to GU - the course was beautiful - the weather was perfect. It was just great. The stops were well stocked but set up at 20, 60, and 80 which was not great because even I didn't need the 20 mile stop but was out of water and really needed a stop around 40. Anyway ... when I pulled out of the 60 mile stop I started to feel a bit sick but still felt good and had plenty of energy.