Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Commuting - gas savings vs. startup costs

I am very new to commuting and have only done it a few times so far. Like many others, I am trying to deal with all my "barriers." I did buy a rack, a trunk bag and some pannier bags.

I couldn't bring myself to commute during the summer because I have no access to a shower. I know some people just "wash up" in the bathroom, but that just didn't seem like a feasible solution for me. It is very hot and humid in the summer where I live and Me + sweaty hair = NOT pretty!!.

Now that it is cooling off enough to negate the shower issue, I have time issues. I am a single mom and have to drive to school twice each morning (one girl goes to volleyball practice at 6:00 a.m.; the other must be to school around 7:30). Even though it is possible to go back home and get on the bike at that point, I need to have the car at the end of the day because the girls must be at soccer practice by 5:00 four nights a week. I already need to leave work early to make that happen even when I'm driving.

By the time the soccer schedule eases up, it is going to be getting pretty cold. I don't have the right gear for cold weather commuting, and I am really a cold wienie. So now I am looking at needing to purchase some or all of the following: arm warmers, tights, wind/waterproof shell, jacket, layering shirts, gloves, toe covers or booties - probably even new shoes since I just wear mesh running shoes, cycling beanie, and maybe a buff or balaclava. This adds up to a lot of dough, and money is pretty tight for me. Even with gas prices today, it would take a heck of a long time for commuting to actually add up to a cost savings for me.