Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

New to boards and cycling! Suggestions for length of first long ride?

To disable ads, please log-in.

Hi!

About a week ago, I got my first road bike! I named her Penny, I'm already in love with her! She was a little out of my initial budget, but I justified it by saying that it felt better than any other bike as far as the fit and my reach.

I'm planning on training for a sprint tri next year and hopefully a duathlon or a bike race in the next year or so (I'm a runner, somewhat)

It's a Trek Pilot 2.1 WSD.

I rode the Specialized WSD and the Trek 2.3 and 1.2 but the Pilot was definitely the most comfortable to me. Plus, she was a 2008 and I got a 10% discount for Team in Training so all in all, I felt it was a great deal!

Now, I'm new to this and am a little scared on the bike because it goes SO FAST!

Any tips on the length of my first long ride on the bike? I'm guessing shoot for 15 miles?

Should I avoid hills initially?

Thank you!!

*Diane*

My first "long" ride was 11 miles. I thought I was going to DIE before it was over with. There were some hills on it but nothing major. Or at least not major to me. My major hills may be nothing more than little bumps and dips compared to some of you that live places other than Florida.
    Aimee

A bicycle does get you there and more.... And there is always the thin edge of danger to keep you alert and comfortably apprehensive. Dogs become dogs again and snap at your raincoat; potholes become personal. And getting there is all the fun. ~Bill Emerson, "On Bicycling," Saturday Evening Post, 29 July 1967

My first road bike ride was about 10 miles, but I could have done more. I was already hybrid-riding 10-15 miles daily though. Let us know how it goes!
    My bike is my Benz.

Riding my Luna & Rivendell in the Hudson Valley, NY