Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Question Benefits of road shoes???

To disable ads, please log-in.

Hi all,
    I am new to the world of road-biking, and I plan to do centuries for the rest of my life. LONG hours in the saddle, touring the world . . . sounds like perfection to me.

That said, I only have a pair of Specialized Taho mtn bike shoes, and I am concerned about wearing them with clips on a road bike.

What are the benefits to using road shoes rather than mtn bike shoes on long rides?

I was told that I might develop "hot spots" if I wear mtn bike shoes with a small clip like a Crank Bros (which I might get).

Can I stick with the Taho shoe and just get a more substantial pedal (perhaps a pedal with a clip on one side and a "normal shoe" side on the other?), or will that not eliminate my potential issues wearing these shoes for hours on end on the road?

Any and all feedback on the benefits and differences of shoes are truly welcomed!

Thanks!
    There's only one thing better than spending a day on my bike: Spending a day on my bike in good company.

Generally, road shoes are stiffer than mtb shoes, which means that any pressure is spread out more evenly along your foot. The dispersion means fewer hot spots or numbness.

However, I have MTB shoes that are identical to my road shoes except for the treads on the bottom- they're very stiff and I experience no numbness or hot spots with these puppies!

If you want to stick with the Eggbeaters, you may want to look for a stiffer MTB shoe rather than switching to road shoes. Plenty of roadies do the MTB pedal and shoe thing for the walkability of that combo.