Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Am I too sensitive

To disable ads, please log-in.

Looking for other opinions:

I work in a small office of 6. 3 of my coworkers are men in their early 20's. We work as a nursing staffing agency primarily.Today these 3 have decided to have a competition with each other. The winner gets to take the "best looking nurse" to lunch. The loser has to take the woman that they deem to be "the ugliest" (their terms are much more degrading).

I am new to the office, and generally have a decent rapport with these 3. Today I found their conversation to be quite offensive. Ie: rating women from 1-10. So I stuck my head out of the office and told them that their betting wasn't cool. Basically, I told them to throw a $20 on the table because women are not objects or prizes for them. They shut up, but I suspect they just continued the conversation via texting.

A few pieces of added info: The manager of the office is one of the 3 involved, so I can't go to him. I was the only other person in the office at the time of the conversation, so no one else heard it.

So, did I over react? Or not react strongly enough?

I'd find out who they think is the best looking and the ugliest. Then when it's time for that lunch date, the chicks can tell them,''I wouldn't go out with you on a bet."

V.
    Discipline is remembering what you want.

TandemHearts.com

ick, sounds like harassment and creating an uncomfortable work environment to me. I'm sure the HR dept might have something to say.

I agree...that cant be "okay" with company policy. But I do think you handle it well! You stood up for yourself and other.

Quote Originally Posted by Irulan View Post
    ick, sounds like harassment and creating an uncomfortable work environment to me. I'm sure the HR dept might have something to say.