Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Question Commuter Purchase Dillema

To disable ads, please log-in.

I'm a recently graduated student and am on a budget. I don't have a car and do not yet have a desperate need for one (especially when the gas is so $$$!). The places I visit most often are my workplace and the grocery store (I heart Whole Foods!).

I went to my LBS and looked at a beaaautiful Trek 7.2 FX WSD but I'm having trouble justifying spending $400 on a bike that is going to be left outside to be rained on/snowed on, etc. I know I would use it and I currently live and will move to a place where I can store it inside while at home.

A couple questions for you regular commuters:

1) How do you keep your commuting bike in good shape? I might be able to keep my bike inside while I work, but what about commuting to other places?

2) Did you replace the stock saddle on your commuter bike?

3) Do you use clipless pedals on your commuter? I'm considering an spd/platform pedal (spd on one side, platform on the other).

4) Is the maintenance cost for a commuter bike comparable to that of a road bike?

Thanks!!!
    Ana
    2009 Lynskey R230
    Trek Mountain Track 850

Hi Ana. For my specific case...

1) How do you keep your commuting bike in good shape? I might be able to keep my bike inside while I work, but what about commuting to other places?

I park in a busy outdoor/uncovered bike parking area, at the store it gets chained to an exposed bike rack.

I have a Trek 7.5FX in the guys model so I swapped the seat for a Terry Liberator. The guy seat was a torture device.

3) Do you use clipless pedals on your commuter? I'm considering an spd/platform pedal (spd on one side, platform on the other).