Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Thread: Base Miles

Base Miles

To disable ads, please log-in.

I’d like to start training for a century that is at the end of June, but due to my work schedule I won’t be able to really start training until about 10 weeks before the ride. I am ashamed to say that when the fall and winter hit, my bike stayed indoors, I just started riding regularly again about a week ago.

So, I’m starting from scratch here with no real base miles to speak of. My question is, how much do base miles factor in to a training program? Almost every training program that I’ve looked at stresses base miles as a prerequisite to a training program. I know there is probably no magic number, but I don’t want to start doing more intense training rides if there is a higher chance that I will end up injured.

Thanks for your help!

Between the Blue Ridge and the Chesapeake Bay
    Is there any way you could ride your bike to work, even part way? Commuting is the absolute best way to incorporate riding into your everyday routine. Even if you commute is short, time in the saddle is what counts.

There are some century training threads somewhere in here, take a look at the New Riders section (?). Being consistent is more important than piling on the miles closer to the century. Get riding regularly now, and increase distance on weekends (gradually) ought to get you there. Of course, I don't know what condition you are in now...I'm sure others will have good (better!) advice than I can give.

I am no expert, and I know others will chime in here. But, here are a few questions that pop to mind.

How many years have you been riding? Have you done centuries before?

How hard is this century? Lots of intensity built into the terrain (hills, area known for headwinds, temps that will be difficult for you), or pretty gentle?