Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Training plans for winter

To disable ads, please log-in.

I got my bike set up on my trainer last week and had a couple of rides. I'm very very new to cycling, I've only been riding a few weeks. But I LOVE it. . .even when my thighs are burning and I'm huffing and puffing up a hill in my granny gear (thank the bike gods for the granny gear).

Anyway, I feel kinda like aimless right now. I want to get stronger and fitter (and hopefully thinner) for next spring, but I feel like I need a plan. I could probably be ok just getting on a few times a week and increasing distance/time. I'm also going to get some Spinervals. But I like structured plans, too and I'd love to have something to keep me improving and motivated.

Is there anything out there (books, websites, etc.) that won't break the bank but could give me a good newbie plan? I'd also love to start a bit of strength training but I don't really know where to start or what will help on the bike. Are there any plans for this?

What do you do?

can you take a spinning class? that's what I'm doing this winter to not lose too much ground.
    Mimi Team TE BIANCHISTA
    for six tanks of gas you could have bought a bike.

That's a great idea Mimitabby. I'd love to take spinning classes I've heard really good things about them, but I'm living in a rural part of the province that gets a ton of snow so I can't really get to any spinning classes within an hour of my house. But next year I'll probably be back to my grad studies so I can take spinning at my university.