Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Thread: training advice

Hybrid View

training advice

I'm hoping you all can help me get some direction...

I started riding a few months ago, but have been off the bike for the last three weeks due to a muscle injury. Now, I'm feeling better, but my riding backslid a little. Before my break, I was averaging about 12.5-13 in the hills and around 14 or so on flats- I've slowed down slightly. I've ridden up to 50 miles on both hills and flats, but am riding shorter distances since my time off. My goal is to increase my speed a couple mph and to work up to a century in feb.

I just got a trainer and a spinerval dvd (just the 1.0 to see if I like it at all). I also have access to a couple of spin classes, but have a difficult time getting there. I only really get out to ride on weekends. My boyfriend is working with the Cyclist's Training Bible- and is very excited to have a "plan". So far, I've just tried to ride and keep it fun. Now I'm thinking I might get to my goal faster if I try to get some direction.

I'm not looking to race, I just want to increase my speed and distance. I enjoy riding on hills more than flats. I was thinking two or three times on the trainer doing spinervals or interval training out of the book and then a short hilly ride and a long hilly ride on the weekend. I might throw in a spin class here and there. I assume I'll change it up a little every now and then.

Do you think this should get me where I want to be? Would you suggest something different (or specific intervals to increase speed)? Do you think I would be better off sticking more "religiously" to the Cyclist's Bible (it seems a little structured and race focused). Is there another Spinervals tape that really helped you with speed? Anything else you would suggest?