Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast

I’m not here to crash the party…

To disable ads, please log-in.

I wanted to come over here and thank a few of you. SouthernGirl and Trek420 specifically.

I am a Soldier currently deployed to Iraq. On another forum, I ask if anyone had a Mountain Bike to sell me. Maybe an older one that wasn’t ridden any longer. I own a couple of Cannondales, but didn’t want them shipped over here. I wanted a bike I could leave for the next Soldier when I come home.

I used to be an avid rider and raced cross-country all over Germany. In 1997 I crashed down a mountain coming off a 30 foot jump when the pin holding my rear suspension sheered. I broke my back and cracked a hip. That was a long recovery, but here I am still in the Army, and still riding, although my racing days are long past.

In any case, a few people on our camping forum including SouthernGirl all offered to help me out with a bike, and wouldn’t take any money from me. I now have a fine Tempest GT and a good set of tires just arrived today. I will be ridding very soon and that will be a huge stress release for me.

SouthernGirl and Treck420 sent me the inner tubes, water bottle, energy bars and a helmet (and they guessed the right size). I am all set and I thank all of you that contributed to me and any other Soldier here you have helped. I have been in the Army for 22 years, and I do what I do because I believe in our Country, I believe in the good of our citizens, I believe in you.

You have made an old Soldier very happy and very proud to serve such fine people. I truely thank you all.

Bruce

We have some pretty awesome ladies here!

Oh, and Bruce, don't worry about crashing our party - everyone is welcome here!

Take care.