Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

stopping technique

To disable ads, please log-in.

hello. i am BRAND NEW to cycling and love it so much. i just bought my first road bike and am learning to use clipless pedals and lock in shoes. i am having a hard time learning how to un-cleat and slow down to stop. i have been practicing moving from pavement onto a grassy surface so i have a safe place to fall. does any one have any hints on how to stop safely and techniques for doing so? i have been practicing my little heart out, and i have only fallen twice. i want to go on the road, but i know i am not ready yet. any advice?

thank you,
    goddess1222

clipless pedals

clipless pedals add amazing power to your pedal stroke. They aren't very fun to learn with though

i suggest to my students, practicing with each foot. and keep clipping in and out with one foot on the ground. then switch. i don't know what kind of pedals you have but there should be some kind of adjustment to loosen them so your foot comes out of them easier.

good luck and safe riding

Han

thank you for your suggestions. i have "look" brand pedals and they are extremely tight, and a little tough to unclip. i will check to see if they can be adjusted.

thank you, thank you,
    goddess1222

Smile

Hi goddess1222,