Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

120 miles, 2 days, How to Train? (and intro)

To disable ads, please log-in.

Hello! Guess I should do a quick intro first. I started riding in April and got hooked fast. I've got a Murray mountain bike I bought several years ago at a garage sale for $10 but I have put road tires on it thanks to my elite cyclist neighbor. My goals with riding are to lose some weight (down 13 with ~35 to go) and have some fun! I really wanted to get a tour in this year and had planned to do a metric century in June but had foot trouble that set me back quite a bit. My feet are better and I'm back to riding 4 days a week with my longest ride being 36 miles. Last week and this week I put in over 60 miles total and am tired but feel good. I've bought shorts and a camelback and have a huge list of "things I want/need" that I'll get as I have the cash.

There's a 2-day ride coming up in late September that looks like a lot of fun. 60 miles each day, supported, diner and camping included. That gives me 7 weeks to get ready which will mean pushing myself but I think I can do it. Increasing my mileage by 10% per week puts me at 120+ the week of the event.

I'd love some suggestions on training for it though. I've read through the century training threads and googled some training schedules but should I tweak it so I have 2 long rides each week instead of one? Is it easier or harder to do a century or 2-60 mile days? I'm excited but very nervous and need to make a decision so I can get registered and start racking up miles!

Thanks!
    Lora