Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Brooks Womens B17

To disable ads, please log-in.

I've been riding this Brooks now for several months as they say it takes time to break it in... I had about 1000 miles on it and this past weekend rode the STP... 209 miles. I ended up with a BLISTER on my left cheek and a bad rash/burn on both sides where the chamois meets the saddle as I sit.

Sigh... back to the drawing board. There's GOT to be a saddle out there that will work for me. I'm gonna go try the Specialized butt measuring thing tonight...
    There is a fine line between "hobby" and "mental illness".

Sorry to hear that. They shouldn't take 1000 miles to break in!
    Mimi Team TE BIANCHISTA
    for six tanks of gas you could have bought a bike.

mimi... yeah, everyone said give it 1000 miles... I'm never doing that to my poor lil bum again tho! At least my legs were good for the ride... I could've done a recovery ride Monday otherwise!

I tried a B17 myself. It was like a rock. We sold it to a 250 lb man who loved it.
    go figure. That's the thing about leather saddles, they are not all the same.
    DH has had two B17's that he loved (one he ruined). Good luck on your quest.
    Mimi Team TE BIANCHISTA

Riding my Luna & Rivendell in the Hudson Valley, NY
    I hope you can find a saddle that will remain comfortable through 209 miles in one weekend! If you find one you should write a thread on it cause' I'm sure lots of women here would want to try it!
    Lisa
    My mountain dulcimer network...FOTMD.com...and my mountain dulcimer blog
    My personal blog:My blog
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

mimi... yeah I know 2 guys who LOVE their Brooks...

Lisa... trust me, if I can find it, I'll be singing it's praises!