Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Snakes

Snakes

To disable ads, please log-in.

I am new to the riding thing, and the other day we were out riding and I saw something lying in the rode ahead of me. (I was riding a 4+ mile loop around my neighborhood) I didin't think much of it except the need to dodge it (not quite as graceful as I would like to be....have fears of breaking my head) anyway as I got up on it I saw that it was a snake and as it was striking at me I was moving farther away from it. Anyway I thought it was kinda cool. It was a poisonous snake called a Copper Head they are reasonalby common around these parts. It was very pretty though a neat coral colored design along the back.

Jessie

I've seen a few rattlers out on the trails here in Phoenix, but never really thought I'd encounter one on the road. However, I've only been doing road rides for a couple months, and about a week ago I was startled when I nearly ran over a snake sunning himself on the side of the road! The rule is, the first person doesn't get bit. The first person scares it, it gets coiled up as the second goes by, and the third person gets the strike. I ususually ride 3rd in my Sunday group, and when the leader yells "Snake!" I hit the brakes!

The rule 'round here is look before puttin' your foot down. The baby rattlers are coming out onto the road now ... ran over one yesterday. Didn't see him laying there until it was too late, poor thing. I've seen several in the last week, most no more than eight inches long.

On the bright side, we don't get larger reptiles here ... read a thread over on BikeForums recently started by a guy who saw a log in the road up ahead while he was leading a paceline, then realized that it was an alligator!

Now I know why I live in Maine!