Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 9 12345 ... LastLast

Looking for Newbies with a large amt of weight to lose..

To disable ads, please log-in.

I have about 100 lbs to lose. I started riding last summer and even completed my first metric half century! I stopped cycling over the winter and gained back the 15 lbs I lost. So I'm starting again and it feels like I'm a newbie, newbie all over again.

So I'm really interested in touching base with other women in the same boat and ALSO women who have lost a large amount of weight through cycling.

I'm especially interested in the special concerns and experiences of women with extra weight. Things like: riding hills with extra weight, how fast are you losing, body image issues on the bike, etc...

I'm training for the metric half century again (actually my group wants to ride a metric century). I'm struggling with a training program because I have to start really slow and from scratch.

Thanks for your input!!

Good for you! A lot of overweight people are too intimidated to go to the gym let alone get out on the road and ride.

As far as doing the rides you mentioned, I'd say just get out there and put in some TITS (time in the saddle). You can do this.

I have some experience in losing weight, about thirty pounds. I went to Weight Watchers, learned how to eat healthy foods, swam and lifted weights. I got certified as a personal trainer then went back to college and got an AA in health and Phys. Ed. (I did that mainly for myself, I have a chronic liver disease)If you belong to a gym, start taking spin classes. The intervals are a great way to lose weight and improve your aerobic capacity. It's a great way to train during winter as well.