Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

What can YOU do with your toes?

To disable ads, please log-in.

I'd been having some really bad pain in the ball of my foot, so went to the chiro. She said my foot and ankle were so immobile, it seemed like they'd been in a cast (understandable, since I've been limping for 5 months because of my knee injury), that I was not using my toes to walk, and therefore putting all my weight on the ball of my foot. She did an adjustment on my feet/toes, and it worked like magic. She said to avoid the pain, I have to get the toes actually working. So I'm doing exercises- picking up and holding a pencil with my toes, and trying to grab a towel with my toes. It is sooo hard, my toes barely work. Can you guys do this stuff? I'm not sure if I'll ever be able to. The towel exercise is number 6 below:

http://www.comfortshoe.com/foot_exercises_.htm

Yep, quite easily. In fact it used to drive an aunt of mine nuts when I was living with her. If I saw something small on the floor I would pick it up with my toes and bring it up to my hand. She couldn't understand why I didn't just bend over and pick it up with my hand. I couldn't understand why it made her so mad that I did that.

I would have explained to the poor aunt that the reason you don't bend over is that it's a long way down to the floor for your hand. Your foot is already there. So...you use your foot. Duh. (I don't know how people put up with me.)

I used to be reasonably good at tossing pebbles about with my feet. Now that has to be good exercise.
    Give big space to the festive dog that make sport in the roadway. Avoid entanglement with your wheel spoke.
    (Sign in Japan)

1978 Raleigh Gran Prix
    2003 EZ Sport AX