Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Cycling clothing question

To disable ads, please log-in.

Hi, everyone.

I'm a newbie here. Just found this site today, in fact.

At the end of July, my family and I are going on a Vermont bike trip for a week. My father and sister (who will be there) have been on bike trips before, but this will be my first one.

I've been going, for the past week, to spinning classes at my local gym in order to get in shape for the trip, and while I'm still very new to it, I'm slowly working up my endurance.

I bought some clothing for cycling (shorts, shirt, gloves), which arrived today and I'll wear the shorts to the spinning class today to see how it feels (the shirt I'm returning because I don't like the style of it).

One of my questions is: Knowing nothing about the etiquette or style of cycling at all, is it inappropriate to wear just a sports bra and cycling shorts when doing a bike trip? When I do the spinning class, I get so worked up and start sweating so much that any sort of fabric on me makes me too warm, and just wearing the sports bra seems to keep me a little cooler.

Also, my sister is looking for another pair of cycling shorts similiar to the type that she already has. I've been looking online for her and am not able to find the style that she wants. She told me that the pair she already has is by Pearl Izumi Technical Wear, and the style of it is a spandex layer, and then over that is a loose fitting layer, so they look like normal shorts.

Does anyone know where I could find something like that for her? I've tried various websites, including the Pearl Izumi site, but they don't seem to have a Technical Wear pair of shorts.

Thanks in advance for any advice anyone can give me on my questions.

Amanda

Amanda,