Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Conflicting advice from LB shops

To disable ads, please log-in.

This is my first time posting on here, but I definitely need some help. I have just recently gotten into riding. My experience consists mostly of groomed trails and road biking, but I have just started getting into some mountain biking. When I was out about week ago, a buddy of mine ran over my bike, so its off to buy a new one.

I have to a couple of my LBS shops to get advice and look for a new one. My goal is find a new bike that will handle both road/off road biking. I am getting conflicting advice. A couple of them are telling me to get a mountain bike, and get an extra pair of "slicks" (road worthy) tires to get on when I want to hit the road. Others are telling me to get a hybrid bike since I will be doing both. I am concerned though since if I get into anything really technical on a hybid while I am mountain biking, it will not be able to handle it.

Any advice would be most helpful! Thanks!

I rode my mountain bike for years on the road - even used it for a self supported tour down the CA coast - with slicks. When we wanted to do any off road stuff, we just switched the tires.

So, if you can only have one bike, and you want to do both road and off road, my advice would be a mountain bike and get slicks.

V.

I agree with Veronica......... if you can only get one bike, don't get a hybrid. It will not be able to handle any vigorous off-road stuff. At least you can put slicks on a mountain bike and take it out on the road. It'll be hard to keep up with riders on road bikes but it will make you stronger trying.
    Someday, maybe you'll be able to have both.