Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Baggies vs. Traditional Bike Shorts

To disable ads, please log-in.

I'm a little too self-conscious to wear standard bike shorts on a 4-day ride I'm doing this June -- I've seen "baggies" and I wonder if they'd be really uncomfortable - has anyone tried baggy shorts? Will they bunch up? Will I be much sweatier at the end of the day? What do you think?

Thanks in advance for the input
    Jenna

baggie shorts

I'm wondering the same thing. I also wonder if there is as much padding as the traditional shorts. The other concern I have is will they cause friction as your leg moves with cycling. Any thoughts on that. I think other than those considerations, the baggie ones have my vote. I think they may be more comfortable although I am a novice at this.

baggies vs. traditional

Hi!
    Although I am a mtn. biker, I find that the women's shorts that have the built in chamois is the most comfortable. I find that they offer enough padding as well, they generally cover you up. The fit of them allows the functionality of a fitted short, yet doesn't show your hiney to all behind you.

I've ridden in both traditional Lycra & Baggie short. I believe if you look for the same things in a baggies, you'll get a short that your happy with.

I look for a Gusseted crotch with stretch if you can get it. On the outer shell, I like a fly so they go over the hips easy. I like them cut hi in the back so your crack doesn't show and I want the waistband to have adjustment

I like the liner to be mesh so it breaths and a good seemless pad that has inner thigh coverage.