Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My first Tri

Smile My first Tri

To disable ads, please log-in.

Hello everybody,

I'm new to this side and I'm looking forward to exchange a lot of ideas.

By the end of May my very first Triathlon is coming up - it is a family fun event - 400m swim (or 10 minutes, whatever comes first, ha, ha) - 15K bike - 5K run. It is nothing fancy, but I'm really excited! My husband and my son are both into Triathlon and Duathlon as well. They help a lot, but sometimes you just need another female's advise.

The most interesting part for me will be the transition - I just hope, I won't waste too much time. I'm not sure what to wear - the swim will take place in pool - is it better just to put on some short over the bathing suit before getting on the bick or maybe getting a suit? Any input?

The swimming part won't be so bad. The running part ... well, I have to work on that one. Since I hurt my achilles last fall, I have to take it easy. Any ideas how to get back on track and not to overdo it?

Thanks!

If you plan on biking and running in your swimsuit, make sure it's a high quality suit (Speedo, TYR, Nike, etc.) that FITS correctly, so that it doesn't start to creep. If that starts to happen on the bike, you will be in major trouble with rubbing. I'm not sure how people do it anyway - I always have trouble enough with bike shorts not aggravating the crease of my legs, so the swimsuit would be a real challenge! You won't necessarily need shorts on the bike, unless you feel you want some coverage. However, if you feel that this event may be the start of a new hobby, you may want to invest in a tri suit. On a fluke, I got mine at TJMaxx for $7! If you didn't want to lay out the $$ for a new one, you could get one cheap off of eBay.