Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Question First metric century...wrong bike?

To disable ads, please log-in.

I'm fairly new to cycling and just did my first metric century a few weeks ago! It was great, but I'm having some issues with pain, especially in my knees and shoulders, (and part of the reason I started biking was because I had to run less because of knee pain). When I bought my bike (Specialized Allez) the place where I bought it didn't do a proper fitting, just a stand-over the bar test. They also said a WSD bike wasn't necessary. I should have done more research but now I'm not sure my bike fits. Is this just part of the normal aches and pains of cycling or do I need to have a professional bike fitting? I'm tempted to go back to the same store and make them do it!

Hi Lisa, just call the bike shop and describe the problems you are having. They will ask you to come back in with the bike and they will tinker with your seat height, handlebars, and so on, until it fits better. It is normal to expect adjustments on your new bike. However, the bike shop can't help you unless you tell them.

I didn't have the shoulder pain, probably because I am riding a hybrid, but I got the pain in the right knee, and the LBS solved it by raising the seat. Solved the numb hand problem too.

This week my new road bike comes into the shop and I expect to go back and forth with it to the bike shop over the next month or so to get things adjusted and modifed.

Darcy

You probably don't need a WSD bike but you definately need more of a professional fit than a "stand over bar". Thats just aweful. Your LBS sounds like the one where I bought my mountain bike, and sadly, my road bike.