Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Do you get massage?

To disable ads, please log-in.

I went for a massage today because my hip's been so sore. And I'm on vacation. The therapist commented that it was "remarkable" that I was so tight from above my left hip all the way down to my ankle. "It's like a perfect line of tightness". We didn't even get to the right elbow tendonitis.

Of course she asked, "Do you get regular massages?" (Why even ask? It's abundantly clear that I don't! )

I realized that before this year, I didn't really consider myself an athlete. I've been running and doing triathlon for four years, but it felt like something of a fluke. I think running a 1/2 and full marathon last fall pushed it over the edge, even in my denial-ridden brain.

Next year I want to do a 1/2 Ironman tri. It's dawning on me that I will need to be much smarter in my training than I've ever been. You can be 24 and just go full out, or you can be 47, and train intelligently.

So, OK, regular massage. How regularly would that be? What do you ladies do?
    Run like a dachshund! Ride like a superhero! Swim like a three-legged cat!
    TE Bianchi Girls Rock

I give massages every dang day. Haven't gotten one in about 1 1/2 years.

I've got a "perfect line of tightness" (aka myofascial meridian) on my right side that I must get worked out. But $70 could buy so much good bike stuff...
    "If Americans want to live the American Dream, they should go to Denmark." - Richard Wilkinson