Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

OW! Saddle sore?

To disable ads, please log-in.

Bear with me if this topic has been hashed to death earlier. I'm new on this forum, but I'm at work and don't feel I can take the time to check out all the old topics (And thank god I found a women's forum, because I *don't* feel like discussing this with my fellow cyclists = male colleagues.)

I commute by bike, and spend almost an hour and a half daily on my trusty old Trek 6000 from 1998 (original saddle). I've been doing this for several years but recently I've been a bit more diligent about biking *every* day, often one day in the weekend as well.

But now I spend most of my time pedaling standing up... as I have a flat, raised "bump" more than an inch long right between where my thigh stops and my labia start, to put it that way. It's where the skin is thinnest and I can feel bone the easiest.

It's not a sore or a cut or a pimple (I've had those too), but is under the skin. I am going to see a doctor tomorrow, but if someone would like to reaasure me that I haven't got skin cancer but just a <insert harmless condition> I would be very happy

And if someone could recommend a really good womens saddle for everyday use that would be terrific!

it's most likely an irritated cyst but always best to have it checked out by a professional! you will feel relieved after your doc visit, i suspect.

Saddle recs: Brooks B67, Brooks B17S, Terry Liberator/Sport

( www.wallbike.com for Brooks, www.terrybicycles.com for Terry)
    "If Americans want to live the American Dream, they should go to Denmark." - Richard Wilkinson

Thanks! I'll have to see if I can find one of those saddles here in Norway.

The dr. said it looked like a lipoma, with an infected hair sac thrown in for good measure. "Try not to bike for a week". Uh, yeah, right