PDA

View Full Version : I think it's geometry?

Kano
09-08-2006, 07:40 PM
AARGH!

I keep making it all go away!

I'm trying to post about some observations that I made tonight that I think might help me start understanding these road bikes some, so I can start figuring out what I'm looking for when it's time to pick mine... I keep pressing something on my laptop's keyboard that makes it all disappear!

DH has caught me surfing the LBS site tonight -- he would probably say it's karma, since he keeps telling me quit looking at those road bikes!

I told him I'm studying geometry. In reality, I don't think I'm ready for the numbers yet, just the pictures.

Anyway, I saw something for the first time tonight, and maybe it's starting to make some sense: with ten pix per page of the bikes, I was able to see that indeed, frames have different shapes, and parts attach to the frames differently.

Since someone has been drooling over the Ruby Comp today, I went to the LBS site and started looking through their Specialized "catalog."

My first observations were how much more like a moutain bike my Expedition is than like a road bike. And there were some observations about mountain frames too, but I'm not interested in another one of those -- don't like single track. The occasional fire road MAYBE, as long as it doesn't go up or down hill!